top of page

Aging: Deny, Accept, or Rejoice?


To my surprise there are as many classifications of aging as there are years! I have always considered it most "useful" to classify age as chronologic (CA), the number of years that have passed since birth or biologic/physiologic (BA). The latter reflects the widespread and well defined superficial and internal changes accumulated with time (e.g., loss of subcutaneous tissue elasticity, greying of hair, diminishing sperm count, etc.) influenced by myriad variables (e.g., genetics, stress, exercise, smoking, disease...).

Both the magnitude and phenotype of biologic aging manifests differently in ethnic/racial groups and there is vast individual heterogeneity. Accepting CA is part of being rational; it is "life." Time devoted to embracing or worrying about a "number" or the potential signs of BA is under one’s complete control. Additionally, one’s lifestyle as well as cognitive/emotional idiosyncrasies color his perceptions and attitude towards aging as well as directly effecting BA. Some variables are essentially immutable, often with racial or gender associated deviations (e.g., progressive loss of respiratory vital capacity or steady decrease in elasticity of the lens resulting in presbyopia). Other classic signs of aging are influenced by how an individual processes (or doesn’t process) change (which may or may not be age-related) as well as his dedication to remain youthful, through diet, exercise, stress reduction, "brain games" etc., altering biology. In addition, artificial manipulation of superficial signs can definitely alter extrinsic biologic age. Due to the “plasticity” of BA, I often talk about emotional age (EA), which can be independent of CA and is distinct, though linked to BA.

I will be 50 in August, but in my "mind" I am still 30. To me, the question posed by the author is directed at this number. I know I’m 49. I’ve seen my birth certificate. I am quite aware that my hairline is slightly further from my eyes than when I was in college or that my kids can text a touch faster than me. When I play 1 on 1 basketball with my son (CA 18) with the same intensity and determination I played with 10 years ago, not only is the outcome different (over and over) but as soon as my adrenaline wanes I am forced to lie motionless, prostrate on the pavement for a time, or, if lucky, perform a prolonged "dead-man’s" float in a pool. Despite this, if Buddha was right (I’m sure he was) and "The mind is everything. What you think you become", I am 30! Do I try to prove this every day (at the gym, running across the street, dancing in the halls)? Yes. Do I embarrass my kids? Yes. To each his own - but I have a hard time remembering my birthday let alone my CA (always had a selective memory). My genetics favorably influenced my extrinsic BA, and I have a long list of alternative explanations for any external or internal discordance.

My answer is forget your CA, work to lower your BA and make up a satisfactory EA. Though bittersweet, the best thing a eulogizer can say at my funeral is "poor thing, he was only 30."

bottom of page