top of page

Physician Making a Difference One Tongue Twister at a Time - How I Was Trained


I am a doctor's doctor, a nurse's doctor, and a patient's doctor. I developed my own style with aspects that are "unusual" but always as a means to an end - to help the patient. Here are a few examples of me being me:

  1. I make a point to touch every patient and look into their eyes.

  2. I ask every patient what they think is going on.

  3. I pay attention to the "peripheral" exam - looking at skin, eyes, nails, etc. Not only do I discover a tremendous amount but the attention to detail as well as my ability to "read tea leaves" with simple inspection inspires confidence.

  4. I could always get by in Spanish but I made sure I could communicate (or at least joke) in every language I encountered. I can sing a song or two in many, having the patients/families join.

  5. Though not a classic Renaissance Man, I know or have learned enough to talk with every patient about something that connected us, interested them, or inspired confidence in me.

  6. I always say my strongest attribute is my ability to know people. I refine this daily. At this point, I can persuade nearly any patient to allow what I feel is best for them medically. At times I am very authoritative, other times emotional and tender - but always honest!

  7. I talk as I examine, noting and discussing findings while teaching colleagues, students, patients, families, nurses, etc.

  8. I show patients and families x-rays and other scans if I can - always giving a brief lesson on how to read the test.

  9. I am expert at small but important and often difficult procedures that I often do myself (always sharing my secrets with anyone who will listen), e.g., nasotracheal suctioning, placing NG tubes, or placing urinary catheters.

  10. I insist every patient call me Dave or David - finding the majority of patients and families appreciate the informality.

  11. I always wear scrubs in the ICU.

  12. I developed/gathered many little reflexive (corny) jokes that are oft repeated (but were original at the time), e.g.,

  • "Is that your normal voice or are you a little horse? I see - like a pony."

  • "Do you eat yourself? I see - like an auto-cannibal!"

  • At every endoscopy I provide sedation for, I begin by asking the patient "Do you want sedation or the 'full experience' of the exam?"

  • There is never a pregnant or postpartum patient I don't offer special help if they would name their child (boy or girl) David!

  • Remarkably, I am able to (in select cases) give reassuring results followed by "oh the only thing I forgot was to congratulate you on your positive pregnancy test!" - waiting a few seconds before laughing.13. I ask for native food if everything goes well. It is delivered personally 9/10 times.

  1. I ask for native food if everything goes well. It is delivered personally 9/10 times.

  2. For neuro exams, especially on recovering patients, I have a progressively more difficult series of tongue twisters. The ultimate: "One smart fellow -he felt smart; two smart fellows - they both felt smart; three smart fellows - they all felt smart."

 

"I yam what I yam & that's what I yam."

 

I think it was Popeye who said that. My points: Being a good doctor should not require checking your personality at the door. Work hard, care, and be true to yourself. You will never regret it!

bottom of page